Beloved Books

     Another evening at our house is accompanied by the audio stories from Beloved Books. When I first read about these, I had my son in mind, however the whole family has enjoyed listening to the series. We received Volume 1 which includes the first six episodes of the Sugar Creek Gang audio drama on 12 CDs. We have listened repeatedly on long road trips and in the comfort of our living room. My eight year old son has requested listening to these often.

     Each two-CD story can stand alone and be listened to in any order, but if you listen in order it does flow well. The characters stay the same and there are references to prior stories. In the style of an old time  radio drama, they have a nostalgic appeal from days gone by.

     Each story is told from the point of view of Bill Collins, a young boy who shares about his boyhood adventures in the early 1900's. The Sugar Creek Gang is made up of Bill and his friends Big Jim, Little Jim, Circus, Dragonfly, and Poetry. The Sugar Creek is the creek that is featured in the stories- where the boys swim, rescue a bear, fish, and even capture a thief!

     "Then I heard Tom say that his Daddy doesn't believe in Jesus." Each episode shares about Jesus within the stories. The gentle way the message is showed flows right with the story. Asking for forgiveness and obeying parents are just two of the lessons woven into the stories.

     Volume 1 is available for $54.95 (keep reading for a special coupon code!) and includes the following stories:

  • The Swamp Robber
  • The Killer Bear
  • The Winter Rescue
  • The Lost Campers
  • Chicago Adventure
  • The Secret Hideout
     Use the code GLIMPSE-20 for 20% off your entire purchase! There are 6 volumes and the complete set is currently on sale for $279.70

From the website:
"In 1939, Paul Hutchens began writing a series of wholesome Christian adventure books for boys and girls.  Several years ago Paul Ramseyer was inspired to dramatize the book series for radio.  Now your family can own and enjoy the complete 36-book audio series... over 100 hours on 72 CDs!
  "I feel that listening to the stories has made Jesus a very real presence in their lives."
These Sugar Creek Gang "Audio Adventures" are dramatically read straight from the original books.  Christian families LOVE this series because the gospel message is presented in such a simple, easy-to-understand style.  The whole series is, in fact, a discipleship journey... even parents who listen along witness the Holy Spirit working changes in their own hearts!
Families also enjoy the delightfully interspersed segments of nature study, poetry, hymns, and even science lessons... all skillfully woven into the fabric of the stories."
     We received this program at no cost to me for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own. See what other crew members shared in their reviews here.


  1. It makes me smile to read this! When our kids were little, we spent hours listening to Adventures in Odyssey from Focus on the Family. Those were a treasure then and they still are. Check them out if you haven't already! Newest follower!

  2. This was a family favorite for us as well!!


comments from friends: